Beauty on a Budget: New buys

 Hey everyone! Today I want to show you some of my most recent beauty buys, a mini haul you could say. In advance sorry for the dirty makeup brush, forgot to take pictures before using it and haven’t washed it just yet. Some of these products I’ve been using for quite a while now so I’m currently working on reviews for those but got a massive haul coming up as well in a matter of days so that’ll keep me occupied for a while. I was going to write this post as little description of each of these but ended up with mini reviews, oops.

beauty haul

First we have the Collection Work the Colour Eyebrow Kit. They’re just €5.49 in Boots and are available in two shades. I went on to get the lighter one since I’m a blonde and black eyebrows are just a no no. Now you’re probably thinking ‘sure the lightest shade doesn’t even show up’ and let me assure you that’s not the case, even the lightest shade shows up. The middle one has a red-ish hint to it but it looks lovely and natural on the brow. The darkest shade is too dark for me alone but I usually mix a little bit of it with the brownish middle one and it looks great. In the set you’re also given a two sided brush which isn’t too bad but it’s a little bit big. Now, I personally use a different brush because I find this one a little too big and stiff for me but it’s definitely possible to work with it. You also receive a brow clear gel to help set the powder and make it last all day. (it lasts all day even without the gel) Ohh and there’s a tiny mirror inside so this comes in handy too. I honestly couldn’t recommend this palette enough and will definitely repurchase once I’ve used it up.

Collection Work the Colour Eyebrow Kit

My next purchase is the L.A COLORS 16 eyeshadow palette Sweet. I saw this one for €3.50 in my local pharmacy and decided to give it a try. It consists of 16 shimmery well pigmented eyeshadows ranging from white, beige, nudes, golds, browns and black. Now I wouldn’t be a massive fan of this palette because I find the eyeshadows to be a little too shimmery for my taste but I do use quite a few shades from this palette so wouldn’t say it was a miss.

LA COLORS 16 eyeshadow palette Sweet

LA COLORS 16 eyeshadow palette Sweet

Next up is the Collection Sheer Loose Powder 2 Translucent. I bought this for around €4 at Boots and been rather in love with it. It’s a great budget powder and does exactly what it’s supposed to do. I’ve genuinely been in love with many of the Collection products because they make good quality budget makeup and this is just another great buy.

Collection Sheer Loose Powder Translucent

Collection Sheer Loose Powder Translucent

Now I wouldn’t say I’m disappointed, but let’s just say that the Bourjois Delice de poudre duo bronzing powder and highlighter didn’t live up to my expectations. I’m pretty sure most of us heard all great things about the original ‘chocolate’ bronzing powder, that’s why I decided to give this product a try. At €10.49 in Boots it’s on a rather expensive side for drugstore makeup. The staying power is amazing and it’s hard to overdo it because you have to build on and on and on with this product, or so I found. And for me, personally, the bronzer is a little too warm, comes across as a little orange. I’ll probably use it up but don’t think I would repurchase it. It might suit you or the next person, but I don’t really like the look of it on me.

Bourjois Delice de Poudre Duo Bronzing Powder and Highlighter

Bourjois Delice de Poudre Duo Bronzing Powder and Highlighter

Ah which girl doesn’t love her fake eyelashes. 😉 I got these from Penneys for €4 for a 3 pack. Thought it was great value until I discovered a €3.50 sticker underneath and felt a bit cheated. Hahaha. Now I’m a bit of a newbie when it comes to fake lashes because this time last year I still couldn’t apply them, oops. Personally found them to be a little bit too big (where you put the glue) and couldn’t manage to stick them on. It could have been the vodka I had while getting ready but next time I’m going to try apply them in two halves and see how that goes on.

Penneys Eyelashes

Next up I have 3 nail polishes. I’ve got the Catrice Ultimate Nail Lacquer 86 (S)Wimbledon and Catrice Ultimate Nail Lacquer 26 Raspberryfiels forever. The first one is a lovely mint which doesn’t show up in pictures. Depending on time of the day it looks a completely different shade and I love it. The other one is an amazing hot pink/raspberry shade and I can’t wait to try it out. The third polish I got it the Collection Lasting Gel Nail Colour Blackjack 2. I can’t give a truly honest opinion of its lasting power because 2 of my nails are slightly deformed due to years of nail biting. My index finger nails are always the first to chip and nail polish is always ruined on them first. What I can honestly tell you though, is that this nail polish is long lasting. I got my first chip (miniature) at the end of day 3 on the mentioned above, index finger nail. The rest were intact and would have been for longer if I didn’t get change colour a day or two after. For the price of €3.99, it’s another amazing product from the Collection.

Catrice Ultimate Nail Lacquer 86 (s)Wimbledon

Catrice raspberryfields forever

Collection Gel Nail Polish Blackjack

I also got the Nivea Daily Essentials Refreshing Toner and the Nivea Daily Essentials Refreshing Cleansing Lotion. I got them at €2.80 each in a local pharmacy because they had them on a half price sale. I’ve tried numerous face products from many different companies and usually end up wild some sort of a mild reaction. Nivea is one that is super gentle on my skin so it’s usually my go to brand when it comes to toners, make up removers, lotions and so on.

Nivea Daily essentials

My last items are the Real Techniques Expert Face Brush and the Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge. Boots had a buy one get one half price on Real Techniques so getting these two cost me less than €20. Bargain! I’m in love with the sponge, never thought something so small could change my life, honestly. You can use it in so many ways its crazy! The brush is great with foundation as it doesn’t soak up too much product and I haven’t experienced any fall out of the hairs so I’m rather happy with it. I’m definitely going to buy more from Real Techniques because the quality of the brushes is just wow. Sorry they’re dirty in the photo! Forgot to take pictures before using, oops.

real techniques expert face brush and miracle complexion sponge

So there you have it! I’ve got a massive beauty haul coming up as well so I’ll have plenty of work with reviews of all these products for you. 🙂

Blog sign off

9 thoughts on “Beauty on a Budget: New buys

Leave a Reply

