Nails of the month: July 2015

Hello everyone! I decided to start doing a monthly review of the nail colours and designs I had in that month, called Nails of the month (NOTM). So without further hesitation, have a look what I wore during July.

IMG_2330

Firstly we have a blue ombre and a glitter ring finger. I stuck the glitter onto a layer of mod podge for easy removal and topped it with a top coat. For the ombre I used Collection 7 day wear nail polish 1.White Out as a base colour. For the ombre I used the NYC Shine in a minute 700 Staten Island Blue and Wet n Wild fastdry E230C Saved by the Blue.

IMG_3154

Next up:

IMG_2538

I used Catrice Ultimate Nail Lacquer 86 (S)Wimbledon, a lovely minty shade, as my base colour. The picture doesn’t really show its beauty as I was doing my nails at the night time and the lighting made it look pretty average. For the thumb and ring finger I did a design with my dotting tool. I decided to use the NYC Shine in a minute 700 Staten Island Blue again because I love this colour on my nails really. For this design you just do 3 big-ish dots in the middle of your nail, followed by two on each side of that and connect the big dots by two smaller ones. Sorry for the messy look, took the pictures before clean up!

IMG_3155

IMG_2580

While I was waiting for my nail stripers to arrive, I decided I want a nail design with lines etc. So I made nail decals using NYC In a minute 320 Blue Sky and Essence Nail Art Special Effect topper 02 circus confetti. I just painted 2 layers of these two onto a plastic bag and left to dry for about 3-4 hours, peeled off and cut out the shapes I wanted. As for the base colour, I used a lovely beige-y colour from Pauls Boutique. I don’t have any name information for it because I got it in a Christmas gift set and there wasn’t any information. Once my base was dry I put a thin layer of clear nail polish to stick the decals and finished with a top coat.

IMG_3160

IMG_2824

The last mani is a show of my first attempt at using a nail striper. I honestly didn’t expect it to be this hard. For the thumb and ring finger I outlined the nail with the Collection 7 day wear nail polish 1.White Out and drew some random lines across my nail to form triangles of some sort. Then I filled them in with Collection 7 day wear nail polish 7.Orange Zest using a dotting tool. Once this was dry I went over the white lines again to make them more visible. The remaining nails are painted with Nails Inc. 089 In Style Berry which I got a veryyyy long time ago and only recently discovered my love for it.

IMG_3162

Which one was your favourite?

Blog sign off

Leave a Reply

