Day 27: DIY Ombre Nails

Hey y’all and welcome to day 27 of the 30 day blogging challenge! Today I will show you how to do ombre nails all by yourself and honestly, it’s super easy!

I’m right handed and can never paint my right hand without it looking ridiculous. Therefore lately I’ve been obsessed with ombre-like nails because the whole point in it is that it doesn’t have to be perfect! Happy days for me and all those of you who are really useless with their non dominant hand!

left hand

Things you’ll need:

White nail polish

Nail polishes you want to use in the ombre

Top coat

Nail polish remover for clean up

Sponge- can be make up sponge or a new kitchen sponge

*Optional* PVA glue or Mod Podge

Okay so now that you have all your supplies gathered, let’s get down to business.

Firstly I used the buffer block on my nails because they were all rough and just not good to begin with! Though it’s totally up to you if you want to skip this step because it won’t affect your nails much.

preparation

I personally rarely use a base coat even though I know I should. This is due to the fact that whenever I do use one, my nails take forever to dry, and I do actually mean forever. So as you can guess, this just puts me off using a base coat but feel free to use one.

*Optional* You can use your PVA glue or Mod Podge to paint around your nails so that clean up is easier as you can just peel it off once you’re done. I used Mod Podge, grabbed a small brush I found and just smeared it all around the nail. By the time I was working on my pinky, the first three were dry already.

mod podge

peel off mod podge

Now it’s time to apply the white polish as our base colour. Using a white one helps to make the colours vibrant and just strong so that you don’t have to apply them twice. I did one thin coat of white and it was absolutely sufficient.

white base

white nails

Now if you’re using a kitchen sponge like I did just cut off the green bit which you use to scrub the pots and cut the sponge into blocks or strips that will fit your nails. If you’re using a makeup sponge you’re ready to go.

sponges

Once you arrange the order of colours you want to use in your ombre, just paint them on the sponge. Do about 2/3 coats to make sure the sponge is actually wet and dab onto your nails. Keep dabbing it until you reach the desired effect. You might have to paint the sponge again for the same nail if you have to dab it numerous times. Also paint the sponge after each nail.

pink sponge

pink ombrepink nail

blue sponge

pink and blue ombre blue nail

Once your nails are dry just apply a top coat!

All there’s left is to clean up and you’re left with gorgeous nails.

peeling off

right hand

Nail polishes I used:

colours used

*Thumb and ring finger*

Collection 7 day wear nail polish 1. White Out

Paul’s Boutique Pink polish (no name, got it a Christmas gift set)

Collection 7 day wear nail polish 7. Orange Zest

LA Colors Color Craze NP419 Shock

Wet n Wild Wild Shine Top Coat

*remaining nails*

Collection 7 day wear nail polish 1. White Out

Catrice Ultimate Nail Lacquer 48 Emerald Bay

NYC (in a minute quick dry) 320 Blue Sky

NYC (Shine in a minute) 700 Staten Island Blue

LA Colors Color Craze NP448 Aqua Crystals

Hope you enjoyed this DIY,


  Love,Sara xox

Leave a Reply

